More opportunities… and an art magazine!

First I must apologise for the lack of updates here, but as you can imagine, my art and life have been keeping me busy. First, good news is I won two special awards at the recent Royal Adelaide Show which landed me a permanent acquisition at an upmarket gallery in Norwood, Art Images Gallery! What a honour! Three of my works are now consigned there (see pictures below – Taxi Bug at abandoned petrol station, the motor and the dashboard) and they are being exhibited permanently until sold and the art gallery wants me to create large scale artworks of Taxi the bug’s adventures! I mean A1 sized! I’m really looking forward to creating huge sized watercolour works, this will be a new experience. Well not so new as I have painted huge artworks of more than 1 metre by 1 metre, but these were on wood and canvas. These new artworks will be on large watercolour paper and making even more use of the mediums (pen, watercolour, ink) will be something new and why not? Make a statement with large artwork! 😉

Ok the art magazine! There is in the works, plans to set up an art magazine and while I won’t say what its name will be for copyright reasons at this stage, I can say it will be an exciting magazine filled with vibrancy and exciting features! Artists will also have the opportunity to be featured in the magazine, and the magazine will include information on upcoming art prizes, shows, competitions as well as I will run competitions myself in the magazine, tips on an art technique, letters, images, stories, promoting artists’ practices/studios/businesses and galleries. I’m also going to try and pull apart information on galleries and how they work. Transparency is what people want after all! 🙂 While I will be the one setting up and working the magazine, artists are more than welcome to collaborate with me through being featured, talking about their project or their practice. I’m hoping for a late 2017 to mid 2018 release for the first issue and the magazine would be quarterly, so I will make sure each issue is packed full with many pages and something for all in the creative fields to enjoy, or even non creative people who might be inspired by things in the magazine! When the time gets closer, I will reveal the name so keep your eye on this space.

Taxi at abandoned petrol station1cBest1bSmlrvw motor1 Taxis dashboard1aSmlr1

Author: gypsysnail

An artist who draws and paints using many different mediums. Art is my world and everything. I also have a love for VW beetles and kombies as well as odd things like rubix cubes and small old fashioned birdcages (not for the use of them! Rather for the look of them - I don't like locking up animals in small cages or confinements).

Leave a Reply

